Liberty Ship Quartet - "Signal Horn" album


Product description


Personnel: Esa Pietilä - tenor saxophone Olavi Louhivuori - drums Ole Morten Vågan - contrabass Håvard Wiik - piano

"Jazz musician of the year 2016" awarded saxophonist Esa Pietilä leads his Liberty Ship quartet with new and renowned crew again to the waters of free improvisation. The two previous albums of the group received stunning reviews nationally and internationally. Liberty Ship debuted its new music recently at Nordic Music Days 2018.

In 2018 renewed Liberty Ship consists of a Finnish-Norwegian crew. Two top Norwegian jazz musicians, pianist Håvard Wiik and bassist Ole Morten Vågan brought superb new flow and energy to the sessions. The drumming of Olavi Louhivuori here is stunning and creative as always and Esa’s horn sounds strongly more diverse in ideas and timbre than ever before. The result of these recordings, Signal Horn, is even more intense in integrity than the groups previous albums, and its newborn sound leads the quartet towards uncharted waters.

Saxtone Oy Verkkokauppa